My earliest memories are of you.

I held your calloused hands

as we watched the morning sun bloom into its brilliance.

It was calm and quiet.

 

From the tire swing I would watch you tend the garden.

Roses of red, pink, yellow, and white

blossomed and spread its gentle aroma.

The essence would follow you.  

It was sweet.

 

When I walked in with blooded knees and scraped elbows,

You wiped away my tears of youth

And anointed me with tender kisses.

It was comforting.  

 

You chased away nightmares

with soft lullabies,

and summoned the guardian angels

with unceasing prayers.

It was reassuring.   

 

You loved knitting.

The intricate threads woven with complexity

reminded me of our unbreakable friendship

It was forever.

 

And when the phone rang at midnight,

you weren’t there to ward off the threats of the night.

You were bedridden 

 I was shattered.

It was painful.

 

Now as I look into your weary eyes,

I can plainly see

that the love that is there

is just for me.

 

Love is calm

 

Love is quiet

 

Love is sweet

 

Love is comforting

 

Love is reassuring

 

Love is forever

 

Love is painful

 

This is What Love is

And so much more

 


 

Author’s Note: On February 14th, when Ms.Hunnisett brought up the concept of love, I could not help but think about my grandma and the relationship we have. For the first four years of my life I lived with my grandparents and in my eyes they were my parents, particularly my grandma. I consider myself to be very lucky to experience the immense amount of love that has been established between me and my grandma. In this relationship love takes many forms. Over the years, each experience of life with my grandma revealed another side of love that continues to strengthen me. In class I expressed my fear of losing this ideal love and what would happen if I lost grandmother. Five days latter we got a phone call saying that my grandma was hospitalized. What had happened was that she sudden felt dizzy and fainted, but with no one home to help, she could not receive immediate medical care. Upon receiving this news, I felt shocked and trembled at the realization that there is no such thing as ideal love. Love takes the form of pain, comfort, joy, peace, and so much more.

 


 

Featured Image: https://gfycat.com/gifs/search/beating+heart

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *